Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Odd computer freezing

• Please log in to reply

zookpoo

zookpoo

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Around a month ago my PSU died, which I then ordered a new one and installed it. When I started playing 3d games, the CPU would overheat to about 140F and would freeze the computer. I just underclocked it and it worked fine for a while.

About a week ago, the computer would crash about 15 minutes after powering on, if it was off for around 5 hours or more, and would work fine after that. today I started the computer, started playing a game and it crashed as usual, then I restart and it crashed after about 10 minutes. I restarted and it crashed after about 5 minutes. I let it sit for a while, then checked the temp when I started it again and it said 95F. When it started it crashed while loading windows. I tried once after this and it just crashed after a few minutes.

edit: It will always crash when I start a 3D game.
edit2: I took a stick of ram out and I was able to run a game for a few minutes before crashing. I tried with both sticks alone.
Edit3: i actually went into bios and let it sit a bit to watch the CPU temp and it crashed when i wasn't watching at the time, was at around 110F the last time i looked at it.

Edited by zookpoo, 03 April 2006 - 06:38 PM.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts