Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

All apps fail, XP restarts on its own...

• Please log in to reply

mrpoisse

mrpoisse

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Im not a newbie computerwise, even if its my first post in here.

Heres the story: a few weeks ago, while working on the house high-amps electrical appliances, the major breakers jumps, and the whole house went into blackout (my computer included). ;)

Afterwards, I got multiple problems... XP restarting on its own, apps getting "fatal errors" after a couple of minutes of me using them.

I figured I needed a format anyway, so I did. It took me 4 times to install the OS correctly because I was getting errors during the installation.
When I finally got to windows, its the apps (Winamp and MSN messenger etc) that would take a couple of times before I can get through all the installation process (I was always getting errors that would just shut the installation down).

Im really thinking its a harware problem, probably related to the power failure in the house (but not sure). :tazz:

Question is, how can I diagnose my hardware???
I figure its not related to the videocard, so it could be the board, the CPU or the RAM...
- CPU is Athlon XP 2400+
- RAM is one chip of 512Mb DDR (not sure of the speed but same as board, think its 266)
- board (will post it back, its from ASUS but not sure of model).
- Ill also post the temps/speeds tomorrow

I read about memtest86 in another thread, I dont know what it is. how to I make the test? is there anything else I can do to diagnose?