Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Burning DVD's/CD's to play on DVD player?

• Please log in to reply

pedrossi

pedrossi

• PipPip
  • 57 posts
I'm new to burning DVD's and CD's. Pretty much all I've successfully burned in my lifetime is a few Music CD's using programs that did it all for me, I just dragged and dropped the songs onto the program :-\

I have a few movies on my PC that I'd like to watch on my TV. I went to walmart and bought a 15-pack of DVD-RW dvd's, and I know my PC's CD burner is also a DVD burner. I bought DVD-RW's because apparently you can re-burn stuff on them if you mess up. Me being a beginner, I'm pretty likely to mess up a few times before I get it right (but hopefully not).

How would I go about burning the movies onto the DVD, making sure it'll play on my DVD player or my PS2? Is there a simple easy-to-understand guide out there (so far I couldn't make sense of the ones I read)
Is there a program (hopefully free) that I can use? Do I have to worry about the format of the movie?

Thanks!

Advertisements

troppo

troppo

• PipPipPip
  • 582 posts
well if theese are pirated ( not accusing you ) movies then nobody on this site will help you
it is illegal to burn copy protected CD's and DVD's

DVD home movies are different things all together

but nobody here is going to tell you how to break the law and burn movies
it is a policy of this site,
troppo

pedrossi

pedrossi

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts