Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help w/ Building an AMD Desktop

• Please log in to reply

AnaMayShun

AnaMayShun

• PipPip
  • 17 posts
I have never built a computer before. I own a Gateway Desktop and a Dell Laptop. I want to upgrade my desktop. But I want to try and build one. And I want to make sure it'll last for a long time. So i'm looking for some help in doing so.

I'm looking at:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ For $460.00

XFX Geforce 7600GT For $172.99

ABIT AN8 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard For $108.99

CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR For $188.00

Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Case For $108.99

Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB For $130.00

Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Platinum Sound Card For $159.99

LITE-ON 16X DVD±R DVD Burner For $45.99

Logitech Internet Pro Desktop Black Wired Keyboard For $17.99

I'm probably not going to get that high of products, because the total is at $1392.94. My price range is between $1000 and $1500. And I know I need a monitor. So I'm going to have to downgrade on some items without losing to much quality. What else i'm going to need? Maybe a plain CD Rom/CD-R?

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts