Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Local area connection. A network cable is unplugge

  • Please log in to reply




  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
Hello, I'm sure this should be a quick one for somebody but it is the first time I have come across it and I don' know how concerned to be. I have installed Windows XPpro on a second computer and keep noticing an icon (bottom right) which I havenít seen before warning me that a network cable is unplugged. I have no knowledge of network settings only that which I use to connect to the internet. I see that the settings for this are in my 'Network connections' folder but are they due to a default install or is there a problem. I am not connected to a local network but I don't want to just disable or delete it as I am unsure about the consequences. Can someone explain please?

Steve. :tazz:
  • 0




    Trusted Tech

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
No need to worry. It simply means the PC has a network card installed that is not currently being used, so it shows an annoying icon with a red cross in the system-tray. my laptop has the same annoyance, or at least it did until I disabled that particular network connection, which removes the icon from the system tray. You can do the same. It won't do any harm. Right click the unused connection in your network connections folder. Select 'Disable'. The system tray icon will now disappear. If you ever need to use the network card in future, simply go back in to your Network Connections folder, right-click the connection and select 'Enable' before you try to use it. You could, of course, simply leave things as they are if you can live with the unused icon in the system tray. Either way, I can assure you nothing is wrong.
  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP