Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

General Question on Hard DRive

• Please log in to reply

niteghost

niteghost

• PipPip
  • 30 posts
Have not replaced a Hard drive before, just want to know, does most Desktop PC [ Sony VAIO], usually accomadate 2 drives in general.? I am putting in a 100 GB as the Master and a 400 GB as a Slave.
Yep, my first time to get my hands "dirty: and I am doing a Master and Slave Combo. My primary concern is about the Cooling, Power supply and XP able to "see" the 400 GB Drive. Thanks in advance

Edited by niteghost, 28 May 2006 - 02:39 AM.

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
Pretty much all computers are able to use two drives but most branded computer systems will not have the room inside the case to hold two hard drives. Sometimes you're lucky and they do have the space, but most of them don't.

As to XP - as long as its Service Pack 2, XP can see a 400Gb hard drive. Power Supply - again, most branded systems only put a big enough one in to power what it comes with as standard and not a lot more - I did see a HP machine once that was running a low-end Pentium 4 on a 150w PSU.

startechie

startechie

• PipPip
  • 27 posts
If the manu-pc doesnt have room for a second drive, you can get some sticky velcro and stick it to the case in a spot that it will fit. I have seen this done before and never saw a heat issue.

austin_o

austin_o

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 2,089 posts