Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

freezing!


  • Please log in to reply

#1
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
I have run XP Repair pro, registry mechanic, activex manager, regseeker, adaware, and AVG hoping to fix my freezing problems. it seems to happen when surfing. My reg mechanic and xp repair got rid of all the reg problems but every single time i reboot or come back from hibernation or stand by and run registry mechanic i get the same four errors:
(all high priority: value is invalid)
Location: HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MicrosoftWindows\CurrentVersion\INternetSettings\Cache\Paths\path1

CachePath=C:\Documents and Settings\corey smaller\local settings\temporary internet files\content.ie5\cache1

Location: HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MicrosoftWindows\CurrentVersion\INternetSettings\Cache\Paths\path2
CachePath=C:\Documents and Settings\corey smaller\local settings\temporary internet files\content.ie5\cache2

Location: HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MicrosoftWindows\CurrentVersion\INternetSettings\Cache\Paths\path3
CachePath=C:\Documents and Settings\corey smaller\local settings\temporary internet files\content.ie5\cache3

Location: HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MicrosoftWindows\CurrentVersion\INternetSettings\Cache\Paths\path4
CachePath=C:\Documents and Settings\corey smaller\local settings\temporary internet files\content.ie5\cache4

I thought maybe using Firefox will stop it, or reinstalling IE but its not working. any thoughts? cache size not big enough?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
start > run, type
eventvwr.msc
<enter>

Right click application and choose CLEAR ALL EVENTS, do not save the log
Right click system and choose CLEAR ALL EVENTS, do not save the log

Reboot. Work with computer until error recurs. reboot

start > run, type
eventvwr.msc
<enter>

Look under systems and applications for items with red Xs that happened at the

SAME time as your problem...list them here.
  • 0

#3
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
under Application i get this error:

Type Source Category Event

Error AutoEnrollment none 15

under System i get this error:

Type Source Category Event user
error W32Time none 28 n/a
warning w32Time none 13 n/a
warning RemoteAccess none 20192 n/a
error remoteaccess none 20106 n/a
warning remoteaccess none 20169 n/a
warning remoteaccess none 20169 n/a
error Netlogon none 5719 n/a


these events all took place within 8 seconds of each other under system

Thanks for your help!!
  • 0

#4
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
yes, but did they happen at the same time as the freezing? That is the key. That is why I asked you to note the time

None of those explains the freezing, at least not obviously
  • 0

#5
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
they all happened around the same time, if anything it would be these two events:

Type Source Category Event user
error W32Time none 2 8 n/a
warning w32Time none 13 n/a
warning RemoteAccess none 20192 n/a
error remoteaccess none 20106 n/a
  • 0

#6
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
ok, so it crashed again while browsing. the frozen machine's time was 7:11 and the log didnt list any events at 7:11. this is the log of all the events on the system as soon as I logged back on. I never cleared the event viewer after the crash. I hope this helps because I cant figure it out and am ready to reformat my C drive (of course it wont unlock but that is another problem).

Error 6/6/2006 7:14:31 PM W32Time None 28 N/A 00904B1A17FE

Error 6/6/2006 7:14:22 PM RemoteAccess None 20106 N/A 00904B1A17FE

Error 6/6/2006 7:14:19 PM Netlogon None 5719 N/A 00904B1A17FE


and this is from the System

Type Date Time Source Category Event User Computer
Error 6/6/2006 7:15:19 PM AutoEnrollment None 15 N/A 00904B1A17FE
  • 0

#7
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
doubt it's those

download Everest Home

http://www.geekstogo...tion=show&id=13

unzip it, install it, and then save a report and ATTACH it to your next post

I want to see your system temps

Also, do you know how to burn an iso image? I would like to do a memory test

I'd like you to go here
http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

get this
Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
  • 0

#8
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
you rock dude! I am at work and the crashing machine is at home. I will do all of this tonight. THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP!
  • 0

#9
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
i have attached the everest file and I am going to get to the ISO burn right now.thanks

Attached Files


  • 0

#10
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
i got the ISO file and mounted it virtually and then actually burned it to a disk and there doesnt appear to be anything on the disk or virtually at all. I also tried it with an earlier version of memtest as well and got nuttin. what did I do wrong?
  • 0

#11
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
not sure, i wasn't watching you

You need to burn this image to a CD and boot your computer with it--this is different than burning a file to a CD. If you do not know how to burn an ISO image, then download the following program to another Windows XP machine, install it.

make certain you download the proper installation for your version of windows. Open MY COMPUTER, choose HELP > ABOUT. Note the service pack and get the appropriate version of the iso burner power toy

http://isorecorder.a...isorecorder.htm

After installation, reboot, then right click the ISO file you downloaded above and choose COPY IMAGE TO CD.

Then reboot your broken PC with that CD in the CD-ROM drive.

This will start a memory test (the disk is self booting)
  • 0

#12
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
I note from your everst report that you have two very different sticks of Ram in there.....did these problems begin after adding memory?
  • 0

#13
csmaller

csmaller

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
hmm, I upgraded my RAM about a month after I got the machine so I dont remember if it started right after it (it was also around the same time I was using Oracle and then had to manually uninstall it and i heard that THAT causes crashing too, but I have totally removed anything Oracle related since so.....)
I will reboot using the ISO that I burned to a disk. thanks
  • 0

#14
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
I'd probably pull the new ram stick just as a test
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP