Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Second hard drive not recognised by PC

• Please log in to reply

jamesthepage

jamesthepage

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi All

I am new to using forums so apologies if I am not doing it quite right!

I fitted a second (Maxtor) hard drive into my PC. Although it can be seen by the Device Manager, it does not show up as a drive in my computer. The dive has a picture of the jumpers and says that no jumpers = slave so that is what I did. Shouldn’t the bios recognise the drive automatically?

Many thanks
Allan

Advertisements

austin_o

austin_o

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 2,089 posts
Hi and welcome to Geeks to Go. If you have set the jumpers according to the guide posted right on the drive, it is correct. You can check the bios and see if the drive is detected, but you already said it shows in device manager. It has to be detected to get there. The reason it does not show up in my computer is because the drive needs to be formatted. Go to start, my computer right click manage, disk management and format the drive.

jamesthepage

jamesthepage

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi and thank you for the information. All was going well, I could see the drive in Disk Management, I initialised it but there was no option to format. Any ideas?

Thanks Allan

Tru Techie

Tru Techie

• PipPipPip
  • 267 posts