Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I want to Install Linux and I have XP

• Please log in to reply

ineverreinstall

ineverreinstall

• Pip
  • 6 posts
I have XP installed as one whole partition and want to know if I can use partition magic to make unallocated space so I can install the fedora version of linux. I have a Celeron 1.6 ghz 256MB RAM 60GB HD notebook.

I have never used Linux before and I want to see what all I commotion is about. So far it all sounds very good.
Thanks in advance.

P.S Can I also just install it on the same parition as XP? will it run slower? Given that I only have one HD, what will be the recommended way to go about this while keeping performance optimal. :whistling:

Advertisements

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts
I think that partition magic might work, but I have not used it. You can also use "qtparted" or "gtparted". The first is available on the Knoppix Live CD.

The first thing to do is to backup your system, then defrag the disk.

If you just want to try things out for a bit, I would suggest using the Live CD (Knoppix, Ubuntu, DSL OS, etc.). You can try some things without making any changes to your disk.

Also, I would suggest not having a single partition even if you use just Windoze.

There might be some versions of Linux which can be installed on the existing partition, but most need to have their own partitions.