Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Problem not seen before

• Please log in to reply

Molotok

Molotok

• Pip
  • 1 posts
OK, see if you can wrap your brains around this one, because I'm stumped. I've installed/re-installed dozens of computers literally hundreds of times and never come across this. I worked in the IT career field for a while, and am now on my own as a web developer. I just put a new computer together and am dumbfounded with this. Here are the specs of the computer:

P4 2.8GHz Prescott CPU
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe M/B
1024MB Corsair ValueSelect DDR400 RAM
nVidia FX5700 Ultra w/128MB GDDR3 RAM
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
120GB Seagate Barricuda (IDE version) HD with 2 NTFS partitions
AOpen 16x DVD-ROM Drive
Sony 8x DVD-R/+R/+RW

Not a bad machine at all, right? Should be pretty nice. However, let me explain this problem, and maybe someone can help me out, or suggest something I haven't tried. I can install Windows 98, Me, or 2000 with no problems and every piece of hardware works, and all memory is found. This machine flies on any of these OS's. However, when I try to install XP it completely locks up... before any files even copy down. There is nothing wrong with my XP CD, I've verified that. Let me elaborate on this problem and describe in detail what I've tried.