Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

computer building business

• Please log in to reply

dynamite195

dynamite195

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I'm a high school student with quite a bit of computer experience. I am interested in starting a small side business that builds custom computers much like dell or alienware. I would probably use newegg, tiger direct, and sites like those for my part suppliers. My question is if anyone here has done something similar to this or is currently doing this as a job/business. If so, I would like some guidance as how to get this up and running. Thanks in advance

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
The first thing you have to work out is there a market in your local area and can you compete with bigger custom builders(not as many in the US so you are lucky there) but there are still some so can you compete and what can you offer, custom cases on site tech support? customised programs, how much of an overhead will you have can you compete price wise. Also you will need seed money, enought o buy your first parts and cover damages and accidents and RMA time. How are you going to advertise, what experience do you have, you will need to seek some basic legal advise on how to set it up and cover yourself in case of the worst happening.

There is alot of steps, and really computer experience wont be worth anything if you are in competition with an established store that does custom building unless you can offer something special.

fleamailman

fleamailman

Member 2k