Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Adding a portable HD...

• Please log in to reply

KathyinNH

KathyinNH

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Forgive me if the following sounds incredibly stupid, but I'm new to all this and I have no idea what I'm doing, but we all had to start somewhere, right? So here goes... I would like to be able to download/manage/store digital photos on a portable hard drive (a Passport). Can I install HP photo software JUST on the Passport, or must I put it in with all the other programs on each of the two computers I use? I like the idea of keeping my photos all in one place (hence the Passport). Also, it is my understanding that the Passport comes with one FAT32 partition and I have read that it is advantageous to convert to NTFS -- do you think this is necessary in my case? As I said, I am clueless so the less I have to fiddle the better. And, about partitions...it sounds like I would have to create a second partition, one for the programs and one for the data -- how do I do that, and how do I name them? God, it never ends. I have tried to do the research but I don't understand most of what I read so everything I read just ends up presenting more questions. It's all becoming more complicated and dreadfully confusing. I keep trying, hoping some of it will eventually make sense but it's just not happening. My head is ready to spin right off my body, I don't know how you Geeks do this... Any help anyone might offer would be GREATLY appreciated. The computers I work with use XP. And I haven't purchased the Passport yet, so if th