Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Error loading operating system


  • Please log in to reply

#1
innocence

innocence

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I dropped my laptop and when i turnned it on it keeps saying error loading operating system, help!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
dsenette

dsenette

    Je suis Napoléon!

  • Administrator
  • 26,019 posts
  • MVP
how far did you drop it from?
do you have your XP disk? (actual xp disk prefereable to system restore disk)
can you get into bios (press either f2 or del during boot up) if so is your HD detected there?
  • 0

#3
innocence

innocence

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

how far did you drop it from?
do you have your XP disk? (actual xp disk prefereable to system restore disk)
can you get into bios (press either f2 or del during boot up) if so is your HD detected there?



Well i dropped it off my bed so about half a metre.
I possiblily could have an but i couldn't use it anyways as i can get passed the error loading system.
I pressed F2 like you said so and i'm unsure what the HD detected is...
  • 0

#4
dsenette

dsenette

    Je suis Napoléon!

  • Administrator
  • 26,019 posts
  • MVP
as soon as you hit the power button to turn on the the computer press f2 repeatedely (like once a second) untill you either see the bios menu (text menu) or the error

if you get the error...turn the machine off and do the same as above but with the del button...if you still don't get into bios...

is the laptop under warranty?
  • 0

#5
innocence

innocence

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I pressed f2 and the BIOS setup utility appears what do i do now??
  • 0

#6
dsenette

dsenette

    Je suis Napoléon!

  • Administrator
  • 26,019 posts
  • MVP
within bios can you search for the ide configuration or something of that nature and see what it's detecting? look to see if you can see the model number of your hard drive...it's quite possible that your hard drive is not being detected which would cause it not to load the OS...

if you can open the laptop make sure that the HD is plugged in
  • 0

#7
lawnman

lawnman

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I have this same problem! I dropped my laptop flat at a height of about 1 foot or so. I get this when I try to boot up. Any help will be greatly thankful.

Thank you
Mark

Attached Thumbnails

  • dell_pic.jpg

Edited by lawnman, 06 December 2006 - 10:42 AM.

  • 0

#8
lawnman

lawnman

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Also I do not have a boot disc! or a warranty. I bought this laptop off ebay and its been a good one till I dropped it. It is a dell inspiron 4100 if that helps any!!
Thank you
Mark
  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
try reseating the memory...should be a window on the bottom...

Edited by happyrck, 06 December 2006 - 11:27 AM.

  • 0

#10
lawnman

lawnman

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Is there a panel i have to remove? I dont see anything open for a reset
  • 0

#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

Is there a panel i have to remove? I dont see anything open for a reset

should be a panel on the bottom of the case...you may have to get to the computer manufactures website and look in the manual for your particular system for the how to remove or replace the memory ...its reseat not reset the memory...IE: remove and then put it back in

Edited by happyrck, 06 December 2006 - 12:00 PM.

  • 0

#12
lawnman

lawnman

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
OK I did that and it said that the memory had changed and I proceeded. And in the end I still get the same result. I even tried it several times to be sure. Any other suggestions? It acts like its going to boot up, the windows symbol comes up and then the blue screen and the computer starts rebooting on its on. Would it boot up if I had a cd to boot with?
  • 0

#13
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
without the restore disk or restore partition...then I'm afraid you did physical damage to the hard drive and you will probably have to replace the drive and also buy windows to install on the new drive...maybe someone else has some ideas for you to try....

did you do what dsenette suggested...open the case and be sure the drive is plugged in...
  • 0

#14
lawnman

lawnman

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Yes I have tried everything and I finally just took the laptop to a repair shop and they had a harddrive that he could try in mine. It will boot up with the replacement hard drive but there still seems to be something wrong with the memory. I am going to order a new harddrive and possibly new memory cards and do the work myself. Now my question now is How large of a harddrive can I use in my laptop? and what would be the recomended memory if and when I replace the memory? My harddrive now is 20gb and memory is 2 at 128mb.

Thank you
Mark
  • 0

#15
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
your best bet would be to go to the manufactures website and in their support section or contacts...look for a phone number and find out what your model will support..
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP