Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help Urgently need, Many XP Problems

• Please log in to reply

dezjay

dezjay

• PipPip
  • 18 posts
I Am borrowing a mates computer to fix it, as he has no clue what so ever on what to do.
I have some knowledge on PC but im stumped aswell

When I turn the PC on i get the xp loading screen with the blue bar going across it,
the problems are

1. This stops and stays frozen, so i have to restart computer 3 or 4 times to get past this screen

2. when I finally get past this screen I get to my desktop, This then Freezes and have to restart the computers again,

3. In the unlikly event i actually get a program running it freezes up after about 5 minutes

I have reset the bios setting to fail safe (F6) but the problem remains, I dont have the windows XP install disc as someone else installed XP on this computer for my mate, and has dissapeared.

So any help given will be great

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
does the problem remain when starting in safe mode?
While starting your computer tap the F8 key once every second during the memory count up, or during the system spash screen where you see the system maker's name (HP, COMPAQ, DELL....etc.)

This will result in a text based menu. Use the curors/arrorw keys to navigate to SAFE MODE and hit enter.

dezjay

dezjay

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
The freeze doesnt happen in Safe mode, and works fine, but when i restart from safe mode it freezes up again

dsenette

dsenette