Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

System Restore Problem- Blank screen!

• Please log in to reply

bebe88

bebe88

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi everyone. I'm new to this so bear with me. I have a Dell Inspiron 710m that came prepacked with windows XP. Right now I'm in this position where all I want to do is keep my files and programs and undo an unsuccessful restore...but when I run system restore..I get a blank window! I've searched all kinds of forums for answers and I need one thats actually fits my situation.

The problem started when I saw that my computer had used 60 gigs on Drive C even though when I opened C, all the programs only added up to 11gigs. I performed defrag, disk cleanup, virusscan, but nothing got rid of the 50gigs of hidden files. I decided it must be a side effect of all the programs I had downloaded the past month, so I restored it to a month ago before all my large program downloads, which is a week after I received my laptop in the mail. The system restore got stuck at about 95% and would not budge for 12 hours. So I shut it off myself..I know bad idea..but it was frozen. When it restarted..all these alerts of missing updates came up and when I checked Drive C, 85gigs out of 89gigs had been used!! When I resorted to undoing my system restore. I freaked out when nothing showed up. I really want my computer to just go back to yesterday's state. Please help!! The computer didnt come with any repair CDs and I want to keep my files.

-I tried running it in safe mode..blank screen.