Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

F-DISK WIPED OUT ALL PARTITIONS

• Please log in to reply

b1caez01

b1caez01

Banned

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 445 posts
:whistling: I am new to this partitioning business, but from what I read, I thought that I was pretty safe to set up XP in its own wee garden, partition the hard drive for various purposes and then get on with it. If XP were to freak out, all I would need to do would be to reformat the XP partition and bobs your uncle... I used Partition Magic 8.

Nope, wiped out my whole hard drive.

1. was I mis-informed? :woot:
2. was I just plain stupid [go easy on me on this one] :)
3. did I misunderstand something? :woot:
4. how safe are partitions, anyway? :blink:
5. should I do it again, only the next time...do what? :woot:

...Al :help:

Advertisements

pip22

pip22

Trusted Tech

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
I'm assuming your hard drive was previously a single partition containing Windows, and then you decided it would be a good idea to create a second partition on which to create a backup image?

That's what I did, and it worked for me, but you have to know what your telling PM to do and what consequences it will have for you and your system.