Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

No Virus Protection

• Please log in to reply

theoneandonly1

theoneandonly1

• PipPip
  • 13 posts
My Norton Security is about to expire and I need a good virus protection program that is easy to use and has the best quality. I am a student so I dont have any money... at all. And if/when you do give me a link to free software should I uninstall Norton before? or after i install the new software? I also have mcafee but it is not registered and has never been used. Should I uninstall that also? Thank you very much for your time!

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
I have had no problems with Avast free AV. It doesn't seem to use as much resources as AVG AV which i was using for a year. Before that i was using the E-Trust which was OK but caused problems with some software i was running. Both AVG and E-trust used enough resources that i could see the slowdown in the computer, especially when on the net. Yes, remove Nortons completely off the computer before using another AV. Also, if you are not using McAfee, remove it also. Why have programs on the computer taking up space when your not using them.

SRX660

kws_divine

kws_divine

• PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
hey.
well, i know there are some good programs on here, not sure of any fire wall things here or anything.
but i know there are good scanners and such.

ah, i found something here.

**NOTE**