Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows Live Messenger

• Please log in to reply

shih-tzucrazy1

shih-tzucrazy1

• PipPip
  • 24 posts
I'm a newbie running Windows XP Home. I have recenctly installed Zone Alarm Internet Security Suite on my puter. Now my Windows Live Messenger will not sign in. I get this Error Code:8100306. I did the troubleshooting things that they suggested but it still won't work. I need step-by step directions to fix this problem. I have tried to un-install & re-install Windows Live Messenger but it still not working! Thanks for any help that you can give to me!

Advertisements

harrythook

harrythook

Trusted Helper

• Retired Staff
  • 2,618 posts
Try this procedure, it may help.

Configuring Windows Live Messenger through the Zone Alarm firewall
1. From the system tray, near the system clock, right click on the ZoneAlarm Pro icon, and choose Restore ZoneAlarm Pro Control Center.
2. In the ZoneAlarm Pro Control Center window, click on Programs. Note: If you have ZoneAlarm Security Suite installed, the short-cut menu and options may be different. Choose the most appropriate menu option to launch ZoneAlarm Program Control console.
3. In the Programs tab, you will see the list of applications that are allowed access to the Internet, and their access permissions.
If Messenger appears more than once in the Programs list, one or more of the entries may be for earlier versions of Messenger that were previously installed on your computer. In this case, please proceed to step 4.