Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I use Mac OSX; but what about web hosting?

• Please log in to reply

efilm66

efilm66

• PipPip
  • 21 posts
Great Site by the way!

I'm new to building a website and novice programmer, but currently experimenting with HTML after having already begun the w3schools.com online tutorials.

I don't know what my next step will be but I'm building a site with mostly text and no graphics, but a lot of discussion pages... (no relevance to geekstogo =)

Anyway, I have a Mac. I like 1and1 as a company. I've called them a couple times about other questions related to webbuilding and they are very kind and helpful. But if I have a Mac am I to stick with a web hosting service that is compatible to macintosh?

If I were to go through with it and develop a website with many pages and possibly grow my bigger and bigger am I better off just getting a PC in the first place and sticking with a linux or microsoft web hosting service?

Many more questions to come but thanks for the help you guys!

Cale

Advertisements

ScHwErV

ScHwErV

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 21,285 posts
  • MVP
First off, good luck finding a mac webhost.

HTML is HTML, no matter if you are on a mac or a PC.

My personal preference would be to find a webhost who uses linux. PHP is an easier language to write in when you become more advanced than ASP, not because the languages differ so much, but because there are more places to get help with PHP on the net.

Good luck with your website.

efilm66

efilm66

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts