Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

My internet connection is flawed somehow.

• Please log in to reply

Tigris67

Tigris67

• Pip
  • 8 posts
Well I am a college student living in the dorms with an HP pavilion zv5000 laptop. For about 2 quarters I have been having this problem to where whenever I open my IE browser, it takes around 3 minutes to load the first page, but then anything after that is completely fast. But if I am innactive while the browser is on a page and don't load any new links for about 45 seconds, my connection blanks out and I have to wait 3 minutes for the next page to load. I have tryed Firefox and I get the exact same problems. I uninstalled and reinstalled both browsers as well. Now I have tried alot of things to try and fix this problem. I am using an ethernet cable that plugs into the wall for my connection but even the wireless causes the same problem. I even went home for the break and tried to connect there and the same results occured.
Another problem occuring(most likely related to my current problem) is the fact that any patcher or updater I use, never works and says it cannot get a connection. I cannot patch my AVG virus protector, or patch any games either because they just do not recognize my connection apparently, or its just poor. The odd thing is that my connection is incredibly fast whenever I get past that problem of loading te first page.