Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Advise in the Total Removal of McAfee

• Please log in to reply

JanPA

JanPA

• Pip
  • 1 posts
:whistling: [font=Book Antiqua][size=3][color=#CC33CC][b]

Just discovered your site and I like it already. I've been on the computer for 25 years, but with the changing ways of cyber space, I feel like I'm a novice.

My latest problem is protection. I was recently advised by my server to have a couple of virus protections downloaded. I have Ad-Aware, Windows Defender, AVG Free, Spybot Search and Destroy and Webroot Spy Sweeper.

I just recently downloaded McAfee and want to get rid of it. I went to Add/Remove and I'm getting messages like '.....some McAfee Security Center components might not have been installed or launched properly. Restart your computer to fix this. If this message appears again after restart, please reinstall McAfee Security Center' and '.....an application component is missing. Please reinstall McAfee Privacy Service. Error Code: (7.1.015)'. All this occurs upon start-up.

I have done all this and still get the error codes after reinstalling and removal. I have decided I do not want McAfee and want to get rid of it.