Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First-time build going anywhere but smoothly

• Please log in to reply

CBMilewski

CBMilewski

• PipPip
  • 50 posts
I decided to build my own computer for the first time just for the satisfaction of doing so and knowing everything that's going into it. Since I've never done it before (and I've been waiting for my tax return to afford it) I've done everything I can think of to prepare myself. So the time came and here's what I ordered for my computer:

ASUS M2N32 SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+
2x 1GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz
EVGA nVidia 7950 GT 512MB PCI-E
Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB SATA
Antec SMARTPOWER 2.0 500W
Sony IDE DVD-ROM
Sony IDE DVD-RW
Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit