Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows could not load installer for Display. Contact your hardwware

• Please log in to reply

Dice-

Dice-

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello everyone! Just recently my computer has a problem with the Display button in control panel. My computer specs:
Dell Inspiron 600m
Windows Xp SP2 ( I believe, I'm not that good with computers )
1.59 GHz Pentium 4
512mb RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 ( 32mb; currently on 1024x720 display. I don't know if the numbers are exact, so excuse me. )

My problem:
I can't open my Display window from control panel, nor my Desktop properties(rightclick on desktop, properties). I have tried going to my Device Manager and under my display adapter, cannot open my properties for my driver because a popup appears saying: " Device installer error; Windows could not load installer for Display. Contact your hardware vendor for assistance. " Whenever I would play Warcraft3, during the game my computer would switch from 1024x720 to 800x600. After that I could not change the resolution, since I do not have access to my display properties.

Things I have tried:
1)I have gone to safe-mode to try to see if it would work. To my avail, it would just freeze and I would see the blue screen with information about physical memory dump or something. I would then have to restart my computer