Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help setting up a backup domain server

• Please log in to reply

jgiurleo

jgiurleo

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hello all,

I am a novice in terms of setting up domains, and need some help. At the moment, I have a 2003 Server machine set up as a domain controller. I have a few XP clients.

What I have been trying to do is configure a backup server, to replace the primary one if necessary. I used Acronis to make an image of the primary server's hard drive and then imaged the second computer with it. So the computers are configured exactly the same. However, when I try to connect a domain client, the new server doesn't recognize it and I can't log in as a domain user. The two computers are exactly the same... why doesn't this work?

Now I CAN get the XP clients to recognize the domain. I take them off of the domain by switching them to "workgroup" and then reboot... and then rejoin the domain on the new computer. This does work, but it's labor intensive.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any help on this.

Advertisements

98springer

98springer

• PipPipPip
  • 217 posts
Check the System event log on each server and see what happens when you try to log on. Also check the log on a client and what differences you see logging on to each DC.

I'm not sure that you can just clone a DC and have it work. Seems like one of them would need to be a BDC (backup domain controller) and the DC and BDC replicate account information between each other. When there is a problem, you promote the BDC to DC.