Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Random Shutdowns


  • Please log in to reply

#1
plo

plo

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Hey guys,

as my title reads i get random shutdowns of my comp

i want to be brief incase the stupid thing shuts itself down again while i'm writing.

the computer everynow and then (quite frequently recently) shuts itself down but thats it, nothing else loses power, it's not happening to other comps in the house. often i need to pull the power out of the back of the comp, turn the switch off at the back then back on and sometimes it'll start up again... only to shutdown in a few minutes.

i'm not sure what else i can add atm but help will be greatly appreciated.

thanks
plo
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Could be heat related.When was the last time the comp had a good cleaning?
Being carefull, turn the comp off and unplug it. Open it up and take a GOOD look at the fans and heatsink.
Blow out the case and fans with compressed air. make sure all the fans work.
You can leave the covers off temporarally so you can observe the fans.
Let us know how you make out.
  • 0

#3
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
thanks for the fast response

yeah i cleaned it about a month ago or so, probably getting dusty down there fast i guess

but i don't get how it could be heat related when comp can be off for ages and sitll have this problem when i try to turn it back on

and its been on now for the past hour but i can gaurantee u this problem will be back in no time

but i will clean it mind u
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and get everest home...install and launch it...click the + by computer...click on sensor...get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...
  • 0

#5
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Posted Image

hope this helps

once agian, the help is greatly appreciated


POWER TO THE GEEKS


p.s. some other links if that one isn't clear enough

<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i72.photobuck...lipboard01.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>

http://i72.photobuck...Clipboard01.jpg

Edited by plo, 26 March 2007 - 01:59 AM.

  • 0

#6
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Posted Image

this was taken about 15 minutes later or so, hope it's relevant
  • 0

#7
AnthonyJ

AnthonyJ

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
your definitely having cooling issues, 37-55 is a big jump. what mm fan is on the heatsink? for the rpm of your cpu cooler, it would need to be atleast a 80mm to get enough air. my 70mm is usually at around 2780 at idle for 30c. if running winrar fan goes to 4460 and the temp goes to 36c
you may need to upgrade your heatsink if you dont think its a dirt issue. ALSO make note when blowing the parts out to hold the fans still. do not let them spin, as cool as it does sound :whistling:
  • 0

#8
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
were you gaming or doing something intensive just before the second screenshot...55C is not by itself bad...but your cpu fan only increased by 15 rpms versus a increase of 32 degrees F for the cpu temp




The main cause of system crashes is drivers.

1. Before going any further, update the following:
Video card drivers: www.nvidia.com or www.ati.com
Motherboard chipset drivers: go to your motherboard maker's website

Also take a look at how outdated your bios is, and consider an update. If there have been 3 or 4 revisions since the one you have currently installed, it is probably best to update.

2. Check your "Event Log"
As said above, the main cause of system crashes is outdated/corrupt drivers installed. It can be tricky to find which driver it is that is causing the crashes. If you are able to boot your computer up, right click on "my computer", "manage", "event viewer". Here you will find 3 categories and a list of each. Your system reports any errors it encounters here. You want to search in all three categories and look for any details with a red symbol by them. Yellow are also significant, but red ones are the ones to research first.

To research them, the best way is to look inside the details provided. There is a link in there that tells you to "click for more details". Do it. It'll take you to the Microsoft site with some possible causes and solutions.

post back with any errors you find ...include error number too please
  • 0

#9
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
yeah was i was doing a bit of gaming etc

i'm at uni atm so i can't do those drivers etc but i spoke to my computing lecutrere here and explained my problem, he seems to think that maybe it could be my power cable seems thats the only thing i have to change or mess around with in order to restart it (when it does work on the off occasion) each time

will let you know how it goes after the drivers and clean out etc. if i ever get it back on -.-
  • 0

#10
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
well i looked in the 'application' and 'system' categories and found alot of events in there and heaps of errors and warnings but how do i show them all? i did notice alot of Remote access errors around when my comp gets shut down alot


are the warnings my computer stopping what ever this is from shutting comp down or is it just my power supply or power cable screwing up?

p.s. i just got shut down again, the same thing' error 20106 and warning20192' from source 'Remote Access'

and there seems to be a warning when i turned abck on from course 'Tcpip' event '4226'

Edited by plo, 27 March 2007 - 01:24 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here..for the lowdown...

save them as text files .txt and attach them to your next post

Edited by happyrck, 27 March 2007 - 09:04 AM.

  • 0

#12
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
i have swapp'd pwoer cabels with my bros comp and seems that the problem isn't effecting either of our comps... it may still occur in the near future

i also cleaned out my comp pretty well which may have done something but still doesn't explain all these errors and its all still a bit sus to me

anyway i wouldn't consider this problem resolved yet

Attached Files


  • 0

#13
plo

plo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
heres the other one

Attached Files


  • 0

#14
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
it may have been a bad connection then...

go back to the link I gave you and clear the log...then if you have any problems it will only be the current problems...
  • 0

#15
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you also have... Viewpoint Manager Service...a rouge app I suspect to be contributing to the problem..take a side trip thru our malware forum here and get checked out...
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP