Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Upgrading to new computer

• Please log in to reply

ohheck

ohheck

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hi all...newbie here. I'm hoping that someone here can give me some advice that would point me in the right direction for purchasing a new computer. First, let me say that I'm a Senior Citizen with very limited knowledge concerning the technical aspects of a computer, therefore I will not be building a computer myself. I mainly use my current computer for e-mail, surfing/browsing, occaisional downloading of photos of my new grandson. I don't do any home business work, nor do I do any gaming. Currently, I have a 5 year old Sony Vaio desktop, 1.6g P4, 512mb memory, 80gb hard drive, DVD rom, CD burner, WinXP Home. The system has performed well until the last 6 months or so, when it started to slow down, have random freezes, etc. I do have current AV, modem based firewall, spyware blocker and regularly scan my computer for malware/spyware.
I am considering buying a new computer, but am unsure what I really need to have as opposed to what a salesperson is trying to push. Any comments/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisements

ScHwErV

ScHwErV

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 21,285 posts
  • MVP
Moved to the system building forum.

Titan8990

Titan8990

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,189 posts