Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New system advice

• Please log in to reply

deja

deja

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to all this but i was wondering if i could get some advice on putting together a new machine.
I'm looking at a Core 2 Duo Processor but I dont really know where to go from there.
I want a machine for Uni work and also one thats fast enough to play the current PC games without any hiccups or anything.
Oh and I dont tend to use much hard disk space i think I am at like 10/200gb used at the moment or something like that which is a total waste but my current computer really struggles when i do a few things at once so I am guessing that means more ram.
Thanks in advance

Oh and by the way maximum sorta price is $1500 AUS or $1000 US, I couldnt be bothered doing conversion rates properly etc but yeah around that mark.

Edited by deja, 30 March 2007 - 04:23 AM.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
Read this website and look thru the options so you can decide what you want to spend.

http://www.buyxg.com...onfigurator_top

My options choices are:

intel E6400
intel DP965LT motherboard
1 gig memory
geforce 7600GS 512MB PCI-E
creative SB audigy SE
Vista home premium

Cost is $920

I cannot even buy these parts separately and build this for this price. My own price was $1156 for all the parts. What this site can do is give you a general idea of the choices you should make.

SRX660

deja

deja

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 3 posts