Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Cable Theft

• Please log in to reply

Cooter285

Cooter285

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
alright i know this doesnt really have to do with computer problems, but i cant seem to find an answer to my query anywhere. my disclaimer: i've always been interested in the real facts, the reasons why something is claimed and what data supports it. also, i hope the fact that i have a bachelor's degree in criminal justice clears my name of any suspicions lol.

i just saw a commercial for www.cabletheft.com, a site where you can anonymously report a neighbor who is suspected of stealing cable. the "facts" section on the site states, "Cable piracy affects the picture quality of the entire system by weakening the signal. Poor picture quality increases service calls and other system maintenance, raising costs and putting pressure on cable rates." does it really affect it THAT much? the whole site seems kinda made up, since there isnt any proof to support anything that is said.

my analogy to their statement:
my neighbor illegally downloading music makes my CDs sound distorted.

i mean i suppose that stealing cable could weaken the signal to the legit payers, but is it so bad as the site suggests?

and who's paying for this site anyways? is it the government? or the cable companies? it just looks like a bogus site

Advertisements

jaxisland

jaxisland

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,703 posts