Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

World of WarCraft /other programs


  • Please log in to reply

#1
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hey! Got an issue with War Craft, Rakion & Limewire Pro

My son has Warcraft, Rakion & Limewire (not the free version) on this pc. Whenever he launches either the warcraft or limewire ...it reboots the pc. He's installed Warcraft on the other 2 pcs I have, and it does not do this. I've tried the Limewire application on my user for this pc and it works fine, however, warcraft will still reboot the pc. I had him uninstall it and reinstall it, and it is still doing it. I'm not sure where to check for problems. With Rakion, his graphics get all messed up.

I narrowed out the Vid card, if it were the vid card, everything would get messed up. My daughter has Simms & Zoo Tycoon on this pc and the graphics are awesome. (Vid card is a Radeon 9800pro) The pc has a gig of ram, (I was thinking perhaps a ram issue?) Pent 4 CPU 2.80 GHz.

I have run a complete virus scan with both Norton 2007 as well as the Symantec online scan and nothing came up virus wise.

Help???? Please????

Thanks!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
1)we recommend removing limeware. It is a filesharring application of dubious distinction. Not to mention that you can obtain viri and malware easily by downloading files from any p2p application.

2)Try creating a new profile for him. It could be his profile is corrupting. Especially if no other uses are having problems.
  • 0

#3
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hi Starjax:

I did what you recommended..however..the Warcraft game is still rebooting. It does it with all the users - It appears to start..then the screen goes black and the pc reboots.


this is the log file of Hijack this..perhaps it can tell you something.

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 12:58:39 PM, on 17/07/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16473)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\AppCore\AppSvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMax4PNP.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Sony\SONICS~1\SsAAD.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\MOM.EXE
C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\ALUSchedulerSvc.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\ccc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LVComS.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LowLight.exe
C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wwSecure.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\SSScsiSV.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Chris\My Documents\HiJackThis (mom)\HiJackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.ca/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
O1 - Hosts: 87.117.202.117 nprotect.roseonlinegame.com
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\2.0.301.7164\swg.dll
O2 - BHO: FDMIECookiesBHO Class - {CC59E0F9-7E43-44FA-9FAA-8377850BF205} - C:\Program Files\Free Download Manager\iefdmcks.dll (file missing)
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMAXPnP] "C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMax4PNP.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMAX] "C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\Smax4.exe" /tray
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\bin\jusched.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoTray] "C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PrinTray] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\2\printray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SsAAD.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\Sony\SONICS~1\SsAAD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [osCheck] "C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\osCheck.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec PIF AlertEng] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\PIF\{B8E1DD85-8582-4c61-B58F-2F227FCA9A08}\PIFSvc.exe" /a /m "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\PIF\{B8E1DD85-8582-4c61-B58F-2F227FCA9A08}\AlertEng.dll"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [swg] C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WMPNSCFG] C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_01\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {00B71CFB-6864-4346-A978-C0A14556272C} (Checkers Class) - http://messenger.zon...kr.cab31267.cab
O16 - DPF: {14B87622-7E19-4EA8-93B3-97215F77A6BC} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zon...nt.cab31267.cab
O16 - DPF: {1EF9F042-C2EB-4293-8213-474CAEEF531D} (TmHcmsX Control) - http://www.trendsecu...vex/TmHcmsX.CAB
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.syma...bin/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} - http://www.fileplane...C_2.3.2.100.cab
O16 - DPF: {5D6F45B3-9043-443D-A792-115447494D24} (UnoCtrl Class) - http://messenger.zon...1/GAME_UNO1.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.syma...n/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zon...nt.cab31267.cab
O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (MSN Games - Installer) - http://messenger.zon...ro.cab56649.cab
O16 - DPF: {C3F79A2B-B9B4-4A66-B012-3EE46475B072} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zon...nt.cab56907.cab
O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://chat.msn.com/...s/MsnChat45.cab
O16 - DPF: {F6BF0D00-0B2A-4A75-BF7B-F385591623AF} (Solitaire Showdown Class) - http://messenger.zon...wn.cab31267.cab
O20 - Winlogon Notify: fsp_abwl - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\fsp_abwl.dll
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Automatic LiveUpdate Scheduler - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\ALUSchedulerSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Lic NetConnect service (CLTNetCnService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: Google Updater Service (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec IS Password Validation (ISPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\isPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: LiveUpdate - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\Symantec\LIVEUP~1\LUCOMS~1.EXE
O23 - Service: LiveUpdate Notice Service Ex (LiveUpdate Notice Ex) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: LiveUpdate Notice Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\PIF\{B8E1DD85-8582-4c61-B58F-2F227FCA9A08}\PIFSvc.exe
O23 - Service: MSCSPTISRV - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\MSCSPTISRV.exe
O23 - Service: PACSPTISVR - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\PACSPTISVR.exe
O23 - Service: SoundMAX Agent Service (SoundMAX Agent Service (default)) - Analog Devices, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
O23 - Service: Sony SPTI Service (SPTISRV) - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\SPTISRV.exe
O23 - Service: SonicStage SCSI Service (SSScsiSV) - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\SSScsiSV.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec AppCore Service (SymAppCore) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\AppCore\AppSvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Washer AutoComplete (wwSecSvc) - Webroot Software, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\wwSecure.exe

--
End of file - 9727 bytes
  • 0

#4
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
are we talking world of warcraft ?
  • 0

#5
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Yes...World of Warcraft
  • 0

#6
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
Found in the main install location for WoW is a filed called repair.exe. Have you ran this yet?

for more info: http://www.blizzard....w/?id=aww01669p
  • 0

#7
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
No..didn't know there was one...I'll have my son try it out today and see what happens. Will post back tonight with the outcome.


Thanks!
  • 0

#8
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
The repair didn't work :whistling:
  • 0

#9
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
start > run, type
eventvwr.msc
<enter>

Look under systems and applications for items with red Xs that happened at the SAME time as your problem...list them here.

Next:
Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
This program is for XP and Windows 2000 onlyDouble-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.

Next:
Manual steps to run Chkdsk from My Computer or Windows Explorer
1. Double-click My Computer, and then right-click the hard disk that you want to check.
2. Click Properties, and then click Tools.
3. Under Error-checking, click Check Now. A dialog box that shows the Check disk options is displayed,
4. Use one of the following procedures:
• To run Chkdsk in read-only mode, click Start.
• To repair errors without scanning the volume for bad sectors, select the Automatically fix file system errors check box, and then click Start.
• To repair errors, locate bad sectors, and recover readable information, select the Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box, and then click Start.
Note If one or more of the files on the hard disk are open, you will receive the following message:
The disk check could not be performed because the disk check utility needs exclusive access to some Windows files on the disk. These files can be accessed by restarting Windows. Do you want to schedule the disk check to occur the next time you restart the computer?
Click Yes to schedule the disk check, and then restart your computer to start the disk check.

Next:
Go to start, run and type in dxdiag
It will take a short bit for it to run. If it finds any problems just follow the prompts.
  • 0

#10
fortune82

fortune82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
could be a simple heat problem in the pc. when warcraft runs, it pulls the ram and video card, but the other games might not be as taxing. try having an extra fan whisking the air out of the computer, and make sure all the fans are spinning in the first place.
  • 0

#11
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
hmm no..don't think it's a heat problem. (however we are considering another fan for it)

The PC's been giving me other issues tonight while trying to do the things starjax has me working on. A couple times it rebooted for no apparent reason. Log on..and rebooted. This happened a couple times. At one point for some crazy reason..it was booting from "floppy". I had to go into the BIOS and change it back to first boot - Hard drive. I have NO idea how that would of happened as I am the only one here that knows how to access that information.

WHen I was doing the dxdiag and testing the Direct X...it rebooted as soon as I clicked the "test 3D" on it. So now I'm waiting for the "check disk" to finish to try it again and see if it does it a 2nd time.

AS for the system errors:...the computer only logged back as far a June 26th. It was hard to tell which were the correct ones. I even opened WOW for it to reboot to see if it logged the error tonight. It didn't appear to. These are what I found for the month.
********************************************************************************
***************************
Applications:: (most of these errors appear to be for Rakion) which is the other game he's having issues with

07/14/07 11:50:19pm “Event System” (2 errors)

The COM+ Event System detected an inconsistency in its internal state. The assertion "GetLastError() == 122L" failed at line 201 of d:\qxp_slp\com\com1x\src\events\shared\sectools.cpp. Please contact Microsoft Product Support Services to report this error.

The COM+ Event System detected an inconsistency in its internal state. The assertion "GetLastError() == 122L" failed at line 201 of d:\qxp_slp\com\com1x\src\events\shared\sectools.cpp. Please contact Microsoft Product Support Services to report this error.

07/02/07 9:59:12pm Application Error (2 Errors)

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.


7/1/07 11:13:59pm Application Error (1 Error)

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

7/1/07 11:13:59pm Application Error (1 Error)

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

6/28/07 8:54:55pm Application Error (1 error)

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

6/28/07 12:15:03pm Application Error (1 error)

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

6/25/07 7:19:20pm Application Error (1 error)

Faulting application rakion.bin, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module , version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.


06/25/07 3:07:33pm Application Error (1 Error)

Faulting application alunotify.exe, version 3.0.0.171, faulting module alunotify.exe, version 3.0.0.171, fault address 0x00001ef8.

********************************************************************************
System:

Only goes back to 7/7/07 - The problem started in June.

7/8/07 4:36:59pm DCOM Error
The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/9/07 3:10:26pm DCOM Error
The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/10/07 7:09:28 DCOM Error
DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}

7:09:20 DCOM
DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}

7/11/07 4:58:41pm DCOM Error
The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/11/07 9:13:19pm DCOM Error
The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/12/07 3:43:40pm DCOM Error
The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/13/07 8:45:57pm Service Control Manager ( 3 errors) and at 8:46:00 ( 2 errors)
The Application Management service terminated with the following error:
The specified module could not be found.

7/13/07 11:06:52pm DCOM Error
The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/14/07 8:38:36pm DCOM error
The server {03E0E6C2-363B-11D3-B536-00902771A435} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

7/18/07 5:39:40pm cdRom
The device, \Device\CdRom1, has a bad block.

Today’s Issues 7/19/07

5:13:03 pm DCOM
DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service netman with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{BA126AE5-2166-11D1-B1D0-00805FC1270E}

5:13:10pm DCOM
DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}

5:14:04pm Service Control Manager (5 Errors)
The DHCP Client service depends on the NetBios over Tcpip service which failed to start because of the following error:
A device attached to the system is not functioning.

5:22:54pm DCOM Error (7 Errors)

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service MSIServer with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{000C101C-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}

5:23:17pm

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service StiSvc with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{A1F4E726-8CF1-11D1-BF92-0060081ED811}

5:23:43pm

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service MSIServer with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{000C101C-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service MSIServer with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{000C101C-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}

5:23:49pm

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service StiSvc with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{A1F4E726-8CF1-11D1-BF92-0060081ED811}

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service StiSvc with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{A1F4E726-8CF1-11D1-BF92-0060081ED811}

5:25:03pm

DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
{1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}


The DNS Client service depends on the TCP/IP Protocol Driver service which failed to start because of the following error:
A device attached to the system is not functioning.

The TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service depends on the AFD service which failed to start because of the following error:
A device attached to the system is not functioning.

The IPSEC Services service depends on the IPSEC driver service which failed to start because of the following error:
A device attached to the system is not functioning.

The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
AFD
eeCtrl
Fips
intelppm
IPSec
MRxSmb
NetBIOS
NetBT
RasAcd
Rdbss
SPBBCDrv
SRTSPX
SYMTDI
Tcpip

********************************************************************************
*****************

Are we having fun yet? I"m almost to a point where I"d like to just reinstall windows and be done with it!!!!!!
  • 0

#12
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
ok...oh boy...!after the chk dsk ran..I tried twice to log into son's user. It loaded then rebooted both times. So then I logged into my user..it went ok. I checked the Windows Update page..there were a couple of updates..so I took them. Rebooted. Logged into son's user..it went ok. Ran the "msconfig" from run program to see what was loading. Unchecked the google toolbar notifier and the Windows Media Player. Then I ran the dxdiag again.

1st try: Passed the first set of Direct X 3D tests 7 - interface. Rebooted on the 2nd set of tests. Hardware Accelerator Direct 3D 8 interfaces. It did this 4 TIMES!!! It appears it will not run this test. When I ran the same tests on the "Display" tab..it started to run the Harware Accelerator Direce 3D 8 interfaces..then rebooted a couple seconds after it stared.

I checked the Direct X website for any updates. I tried to take the update for the latest DirectX (not 10) but it wouldn't install it.
I ran a system restore back to May 26th. I could not restore. (What is the purpose of the restore..it NEVER works!)

Sooooooooooooo....that's where I am tonight.
  • 0

#13
fortune82

fortune82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
from what i can get, its something with the graphics card. you said you used a radeon 9800 pro? that video card is somewhat dated, and might just be giving out. i suggest getting a new, cheap, video card, and there are several out there. if your 9800 is an AGP video card, this is a fine replacement. if you need an PCI-E card, try this.

Edited by fortune82, 20 July 2007 - 08:44 AM.

  • 0

#14
msRiot

msRiot

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Yep..apparently that's what it is. A friend of mine (I found out last night), had the same issue with his Son's pc and the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro.

Thanks for all your help guys! Greatly appreciated! At least I don't have to reinstall windows :whistling:
  • 0

#15
fortune82

fortune82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
np. im 14, so any chance for me to stretch my PC know-how is a great thing!
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP