Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Locked Computer?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
joscott

joscott

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hello,

Not sure if this is the right section, but I am on Windows XP and I have been getting a message about my computer being locked. This usually happens when I move the mouse to get the screen saver to go away. The message reads as follows:

This computer is in use and has been locked

Only user or an administrator can unlock this computer.

Now the only thing I really did recently was install my University's computing CD. If this is whats making it display the message, is there anyway to get this message to stop showing? What exactly does it mean?

Thank you
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Major Payne

Major Payne

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
Try right-clicking on your Desktop, selecting the Screen Saver tab after clicking Properties. See if "On resume, password protect" box is checked. Uncheck it and activate SS, then move mouse or hit a keyboard key to remove SS. Post results.

Ron
  • 0

#3
joscott

joscott

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hey Ron,

That seems to have done it. I had never selected that before, so I am assuming that the program changed it. Are there any benefits to having it like that?

Thank you,
Josh
  • 0

#4
Major Payne

Major Payne

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
You're more then welcome.

It's useful when you have your SS set to activate in a short time limit so that when you walk away from PC, no one has access to PC without password after moving mouse or hitting keyboard key. It's just another protection without having to go through the quick logoff if that's set up. Some people don't like it because they don't set time right for SS activation or if your task takes your mind off PC the SS may activate. Moving mouse before SS activation will prevent this, but who remembers this all the time?

Just make sure you remember password and username. LOL

Thank you for using GTG.

Ron

Edited by Major Payne, 24 July 2007 - 09:41 PM.

  • 0

#5
joscott

joscott

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Well I learned something new.

Thank You once again!

-Josh
  • 0

#6
Major Payne

Major Payne

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
I learn something new almost every day being in this forum. LOL have a good day/night.

Ron
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP