Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Good software for creating A Forum?

• Please log in to reply

Charliee03

Charliee03

• PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
Iv heard about VBulletin, but there prices are a bit high I was wondering if there are any alternative progs to get me started. Im new to web development so I just want to give it a try. I want to have people register and have there own mini profiles ect.

Advertisements

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
Check out phpNuke.

PHP-Nuke version 8.1 has been released. Preferences administration system has been totaly re-written and reorganized, added BB2Nuke forums 2.0.21, added AutoTheme GPL edition, several security fixes, added more variables check on few modules, fixed several bugs in Topics module, added referers in abridge or unabridge modes, added function to let administrators decide if the users can change the theme or not and many more. Purchase PHP-Nuke 8.1 now for only US$12.

That should be cheap enough. There are also thousands of modules you can add to this.

Ron

Edited by Major Payne, 23 September 2007 - 03:18 PM.

scozzard

scozzard

• PipPip
  • 26 posts
Cant go wrong with phpbb (www.phpbb.com). I've made about 4 forums through this website. You get all the source code so you can modify functionality and look and feel to suit if required too.

The package comes with full easy to follow instructions too :)

thenotch

thenotch

• Retired Staff
  • 668 posts
PunBB, MyBB, phpBB2, SMF... The list goes on and on...