Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Deleted files not in Recycle Bin


  • Please log in to reply

#1
SHENGTON

SHENGTON

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
I know that if you delete something in your Floppy Disk or Flash Drive, the files that you deleted are not in the Recycle Bin. This is because Recycle Bin is only for the hard drives. Floppies are not covered neither are flash drives.

Now question is:
Where are my deleted files go?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Major Payne

Major Payne

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
The deleted files are still present unless you have reformated or have added content to flash drive in, which case, some or all may have been over written.

The tiny bit of information that points to the location of the file on the drive is erased. This pointer, along with other pointers for every folder and file on the drive, is saved in a section near the beginning of the drive. By erasing the pointer file, the actual file becomes invisible to the operating system. Eventually, the drive will write new data over the area where the old file is located.

Ron
  • 0

#3
SHENGTON

SHENGTON

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
Thanks Major Payne! :)

If someone knows where the deleted files go please feel free to post it here co'z this will be will be additional info for me.
  • 0

#4
Major Payne

Major Payne

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts
They don't go anywhere. They just get written over since the space they are in is set as being writable sectors. :)

Ron
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP