Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

STOP: c000021a (Fatal System Error)

• Please log in to reply

YoukaiHiei

YoukaiHiei

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hey there. This is my first time actually posting here so...yeah haha XD fun stuff.
Pretty much, here is what happened.

My computer had been running strangely for about a week, nothing too annoying, just very slowly.
The one morning I tried to boot it up and it would not load past the Windows XP "Loading" screen.
So I then tried booting into safe mode to see if that would work. It started to load the drivers and all,
but freezes on Mup.sys and then after about ten minutes it shuts down and reboots, continuing the cycle.

After that, I did some research and (stupid me) finally figured out how to turn off the automatic system
restart on failure thing. So, I did, and then now instead of just looping into infinity, I get the blue screen
with this error:

STOP C000021a {FATAL SYSTEM ERROR}

The session manager initialization system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x0000026c (0x000000 0x00000000)

The system has been shut down

So upon seeing this I got my Live Knoppix CD and put most of the things that I'd like to keep on my HD on an external one that I have,
just in case I do have to format...which I could do, however as I am posting here, formatting my HD is my last resort. So yeah, thats about as complete as the description of my issue can get, at least from me at this moment :)