Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

IF I buy this External Enclosure DO i Have to Configure it to RAID?

• Please log in to reply

Charliee03

Charliee03

• PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
Im looking to buy this item from new egg

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817716051

Would I Have to configure it to work with RAID, the HDs (both 500GIG) are already formatted to a TB with data I just want to put them in here to get them both back up and running. The old power supply died so I need a new case for 2 500 GIG hds

Im not really good with things like this

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
You have left out information that is needed to see if this will work. First , it sounds like you have been using the 2 drives in another computer. Were they used in a Raid 0 configuration in that computer? Raid 0 is where the data is striped so it is necessary to have both drives to be able to use the data on the drives. If you had been using Raid 1 on the drive both drives would have the exact same data on them so you could just install one of the drives in your new computer to use the data on that drive.

So then, only if you had used the 2 drives in a Raid 0 configuration would you be able to use them in that drive enclosure. It states the configuration at that website.

Non-Configurable, JBOD: RAID 0 - Disk Spanning function

Installing the drives in that enclosure and not having them used in a Raid 0 config would probably cause you to lose all data on the drives, if you tried using them.