Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Firefox acting up. Please Help me!

• Please log in to reply

shiftystud22

shiftystud22

• PipPip
  • 44 posts
Hello. I have been using Firefox now for about 4 months and I love it. After restarting my computer I opened firefox and the google toolbar installation keeps popping up, not allowing me to exit. So then i find that all my settings were reset to default and all my bookmarks are gone. Also when I try to uninstall the google toolbar it says it will remove after restarting firefox, but then when I restart I find myself back where I started. Is there anyway I can get my settings and bookmarks back, and the google toolbar gone?? Please help me!!!!

Advertisements

reconman

reconman

• PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
I would download the latest version of FireFox and install it. If the problem still persists, there might be something going on in your profiles folder of firefox (located in C:\Documents and Settings\User\Local Settings\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles). You should see a folder that's named with a random string of 8 letters and numbers with .default at the end. If you made a custom profile, you should see that in there as well. If you didn't make a custom profile and there's no one else that uses the computer or made a profile and you see a profile other than the ".default" one, you could have some problems.

hary

hary

• PipPip
  • 94 posts
To uninstall the Google toolbar.

Only download Fx from the official Mozilla site..

happyrock

happyrock

Tech Moderator

• Retired Staff