Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Black Screen With Blinking Cursor

• Please log in to reply

alexkingsley

alexkingsley

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello all, I am new here, and am not sure if this is where I should be posting this, but hopefully someone will be able to help me.

Here is how my problem started. I was trying to stop some programs from running on startup, so I did a Run, msconfig, and in the startup tab, dissabled some programs, and I think I dissabled something I shouldn't have, because as soon as I restarted my computer to put my actions into effect, I got a black screen with a blinking cursor.

So now, I am getting a black screen with a blinking cursor in the upper left hand corner of my screen upon boot up. After the windows sign comes up, and loads, it goes to the black screen. While loading, I have 2 options. F2, and F12. F2 is Boot Configuration, or something like that, and F12 is System Configuration. I can access F2, but it isn't much help, but I can't even access F12, the computer just starts to beep, and then goes to the black screen, and nothing happens. If I continue to press F8, the computer will start to beep, and then come up with a black screen that says "keyboard failure." The keyboard is plugged in. If I wait on the "keyboard failure" screen for about 5 minutes, it proceeds to the "safe mode" options. The part that makes my think my keyboard still works is that the lights are on, and I can scroll with the arrows to pick a "safe mode" choice.