Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

lsass.exe. system error

• Please log in to reply

sonicyouth1984

sonicyouth1984

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi guys,

Bare with me, I'm not too technical although have managed to fix a problem on a different computer through here in the past so I have the faith!

I am runnng Windows XP and when I start up I get the error message, "lsass.exe. system error". in the box it says when trying to update this return status indicates that the value provided as the current password is not correct. It then reboots before I get into Windows.

I have read up on this through Google and many of the solutions (although many are presented in a confusing manner without a definitive solution) require the Windows disc. My computer came with Windows XP pre-installed, my dad bought it for me within the cheapest of budgets.

I understand the situation but have not found a solution without a disc. I've tried to boot up under safe mode but it appears to crash.

This all came from having internet connection problems, my housemate suggested that I probably picked something up from bittorrent and to use the system recovery tool, which I did rather naively.

I hope you can help guys, I'm in my final year of Uni so having a computer is quiet useful, thankfully I backed up all my uni work but nothing else. Preferably I would like to keep my hard drive as it is but if I need to delete everything, I'm prepared to do so.

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
Hello sonicyouth1984, welcome to G2G.