Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Question about deleting account on Windows XP w/SP3

  • Please log in to reply

Mark W

Mark W


  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
I have Windows XP with SP3 installed. When I did the set up it by default I assume created an Administrator account and also at setup after asking my name appears to have created an account called Mark. I didn't realize this so I went through installing a lot of software, all under Administrator account. I then realized I have this second account and honestly don't need it. Both are set up as Administrator accounts. At bootup it even automatically logs into the Administrator account and never gives me a logon screen with the two names so it's far easier to use this Administrator account.
I have used Windows XP machines in the past but with SP2 and it has never made one of these Administrator accounts. Is this something that is new with SP3? This was a new computer I purchased so was a completely fresh install.
My question, I have read on google how to delete an account but I go to the Control Panel/User Accounts. I select the Mark account from Administrator but it doesn't give me the delete option. It either is not there or is greyed out. I even did a logoff and logged on as Mark. The odd thing is at this time it didn't give me the Administrator account, only Mark. I logged on Mark and whenI go to User Accounts Administrator isn't even listed as an account. is this normal? For now I know the simple thing is to simply let it log on automatically as Administrator and use that account all the time but to make sure there's not an error I'd like to delete the Mark account. Is this possible or is there something wrong with my install?
Thank you for any help with the above.
  • 0


Neil Jones

Neil Jones

    Member 5k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
The Administrator account, by default, is only available in Safe Mode.
When you add another account, Administrator becomes hidden in normal mode.
If you are using the Administrator account in normal mode, this is not a good idea.
For your situation, this might be of interest to stop the computer going in as Administrator all the time, though you won't be able to delete this account.

Edited by Neil Jones, 05 February 2008 - 05:28 PM.

  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP