Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Compaq shutdown

  • Please log in to reply



    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi, I am a newbie to this site, although the administrators never sent me a email as they were supposed to!
Anyway, I have a friend who has a 4 year old Compaq, with XP, when he now boots up the comp., it simply tells him to 'reboot', and then goes to a black screen.
I have tried everything from rebooting the modem and then some.
The model of this Compaq is Presario SR 1023WM.
Please help me :)
  • 0




    motto - Just get-er-done

  • Technician
  • 4,345 posts
From the Compaq Website.

Recovery Version 2( from the Hidden Partition)

* Startup your Computer and Press the F10 key during boot at the beginning
* or from the Start menu select:
o Start > All Programs > Compaq > Compaq PC Tools > Compaq System Recovery or
o Start > All Programs > Compaq > Compaq Presario PC Tools > Compaq System Recovery or
o Start > All Programs > PC Help & Tools > Compaq System Recovery.

Windows® XP will restart (a reminder to use System Restore might appear - click Yes to continue the restart).

The PC will load the Compaq System Recovery. In the recovery program there are 2 methods which can be used to recover the PC:

* Non-Destructive System Recovery. This should restore the system without affecting the user's data. Please note that the stored user data may not be immediately visible and may be stored in a separate folder on the hard disk within the Documents & Settings folder after recovery. This occurs normally when User Accounts have been used and modified.
o Press Next. The user is prompted to try System Restore first. Press Yes. Recovery will now begin.
* Destructive System Recovery. This method will format the hard drive and remove any personal data and applications. This will use a Quick Format only.
o Click Advanced Options from the first recovery screen shown. Press Next to begin.

On starting either recovery method there will be a reminder to use System Restore if possible, click Yes to continue. The Destructive System Recovery will have a final warning about data loss, click Yes.

If you did not make a recovery CD when the computer was new, you may have to order a recovery cd from H-P.


  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP