Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Final Year Uni Student needing urgent help with XP startup!

• Please log in to reply

Danstar10

Danstar10

• PipPip
  • 39 posts
hi guys,
i am a final year computer animation uni student and my computer has decided to play up. As you can imagine this is amazingly bad timing as i am a COMPUTER animator! ok i will try to tell you as much as possible - any help quickly would be so great.

Absolutly no problems before 5pm today (im writing this in safe mode with networking), shut down windows - started it up 2ish hours later and it suddenly took 2+ minutes to finish displaying boot up info where it tells you the motherboard name (GA-K8N Pro SLI F4) and then now nothing will happen for about 2 mins, then the clock CPU freq will come up (200MHz), and finally it will detect the IDE drives. This now takes 2+ mins and would normally happen in about 4 seconds before it started going strange.

Then a new screen with alot of info will come up quickly - as normal - in which i can configure RAID with F10 and boot up from CD etc. It then loads windows appearing normal with the blue bar scrolling. Next it will go blank for a long-ish time (20secs) and the desktop will finally be displayed. Now it will reset itself within 30 seconds of displaying the desktop. this is the loop i am stuck in. Safe mode seems fine.