Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

explorer.exe doesn't start, or restarts constatnly. [CLOSED]

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

MikeGnz

MikeGnz

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi, I'm new here, and this is my first time talking to others about this problem. I apoligize for this very long post, but I felt that I needed to give you guys as much information as possible.

Well...it's been happening for a few days now, but explorer.exe keeps crashing on me right after I log in. If it doesn't crash, then it keeps restarting. I've tried a lot of things, many of which I've learned from here, and as such, I'e found a lot of bad stuff on my computer (a Compaq laptop).

I've run the AVG anti-spyare program, Avast! Antivirus, and finally HijackThis, in order to try and solve the problam myself. However, I still haven't found the problem after working on this for a combined 14 hours (yesterday and today).

I can access the Task Manager, yes, so it' not a bother to me. However, my uncle gets mad easily, and having no Start menu or Desktop gets him riled up.

One last hting, I'm a senior in high-school, and, though very computer literate, I might not understand everything I get told, so I hope I don't come across as annoying if I ask whomever takes the time to help me to clarify anything they tell me.