Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Wipe the hard drive

• Please log in to reply

cleanprophet

cleanprophet

• PipPip
  • 93 posts
I think i may need to wipe my hard drive as there seems to be a virus of some sort on my computer. Trouble is, i've never done it before. Can anyone suggest a good piece of software for erasing the hard drive and do they have any advice?

Advertisements

Tyger

Tyger

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,896 posts
We can certainly do that but you may have a recovery partition with the files needed for reinstallation on it, which you would not want to wipe. Probably the first thing to do would be go to the maker's site and look for the instructions for making a clean reinstallation of the operating system. It may involve using some CDs you already have, or just using the installation files on the hard drive, or it may also involve making a set of CDs using the installation files.

cleanprophet

cleanprophet

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
Right, i'll have a look at then and see how it goes.

I ran Trojan Remover and pinpointed the source of the problem:

It is in system32 and it evolves around the following;

hkey_local_machine/current version

hkcu\software...

german.exe

drvsyskit.exe

Some of these system32 files are stealthed and it seems that the registry is modified by this hkey file every time i boot the computer.