Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Repair MBR

• Please log in to reply

jst42day

jst42day

• PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
I need to repair the MBR in my XP Pro w/SP2.
Everything I've read so far indicates that I'll need to Recover XP using the OS install disk.
There appear to be ways of doing this without losing all of my hard drives' contents.
Would you please guide me towards a guide that is the easiest to follow?
I'm a novice and can usually follow good directions. But with all the different sites explaining how to do this I'm not sure of which one to trust.
Thanks for any help.
J.

Advertisements

Artellos

Artellos

Tech Secretary

• Global Moderator
  • 3,915 posts
Hello jst42day,

Here is a guide on how to repair a damaged MBR.

Repairing a Damaged MBR

Your Windows XP setup CDROM has a tool called the Recovery Console, which is designed to help you repair a damaged master boot record or boot sector. To start the Recovery Console and fix your damaged MBR, follow these steps:

• Restart your computer with the Windows XP Setup disk in the CDROM drive.
  • If you are prompted to press a key to start the computer from CDROM, do so quickly. Otherwise it may try to boot from the hard drive.
  • After a few minutes, you'll see a prompt to press the R key to start the Recovery Console.