Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help a Newbie Please With Series Problems!

• Please log in to reply

Lilz

Lilz

• PipPip
  • 55 posts
I have a serious problem that I hope someone may be able to help me with please. I am not a techie, but can understand a lot of "PC Speak!" :)

Running Windows XP Home Edition on Dell - has been fine for over a year now.

For a start, here is a list of things we cannot do - just incase any of you may have some ideas/answers:

Cannot boot up in Safe Mode - get BSOD (blue screen of death)
Cannot download any security updates from Microsoft without an error
Cannot run or install AVG or Zone Alarm or anti-virus and Firewall software except SpyHunter and RegClean.
Cannot run or install HighJack This to get a system log
Cannot run any "fix pc" type software like CClean.
Cannot run check hard disk thingy from DOS without a crash.

AVG and Zone Alarm were running fine a couple of days ago, then I downloaded some files from Emule - right clicked them to scan with AVG as I always do with all files I download. One had a virus so I deleted it without opening it. Next thing AVG and Zone Alarm had vanished from my system tray. I ran that virus check on Symantec and it said we had "Zlob" and "Beagle32". I manged to get a copy of SpyHunter and that installed and ran and I managed to get rid of everything except msxml3a.dll which was infected with Avenue Media trojan? SpyHunter kept saying that it would remove it on restart but couldn't. I just deleted that file in the end manually.