Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Application Error 0xc000005 [CLOSED]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#31
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Ok on it now may take a while as that is a very generic error

Could you post the names of the other games where that occurs so I can broaden my search

Also could you search for these two files within Windows\system32 sb16snd.sys and sp16snd.dll

Edited by Essexboy, 24 March 2008 - 04:25 PM.
added data

  • 0

Advertisements


#32
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Ok,

Star Wars Battlefront 1 & 2, Battlefield Vietnam & 1942, Silent Hill 4, those are the games that give me the error code. The games that do not are Unreal Tournament Game of the Year Edition and Aliens Vs. Predator.

So far in my search I have found that I DO NOT have those dll files.
  • 0

#33
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
A possible solution here and it is to do with badly written programming - we can check it out by following the process on this page and add that programme to the exceptions list. Try that out for one programme and let me know the results
  • 0

#34
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
OK when I go to the DEP section I can't click on anything. It says I need administrative rights, which I do. My user profile is Computer Administrator????

It also says that I must use the boot.ini file? What the...??? lol

Bryan

Edited by kingviper, 25 March 2008 - 05:58 PM.

  • 0

#35
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Ok heres an update. I was able to modify the boot.ini file after doing some research and was able to add the programs I wanted but I am still getting the error. Like I said, this only started happening 8 months ago.
  • 0

#36
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
When you did the re-install did you completely remove the programmes or did you just overwrite them ?
Was it installed from a cd or downloaded ?

Thsi is a very generic error still not getting anything I can use yet - but working on it
  • 0

#37
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
I did the uninstall method, then reinstalled from a CD. They are legit too.
  • 0

#38
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Still searching - yet another reference found on a gaming site was a possible error with direct x

So if you could run dxdiag

Go start>Run>Dxdiag> enter and see if that detects any problems

Still searching :)

Edited by Essexboy, 27 March 2008 - 04:25 PM.
Typo

  • 0

#39
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
No problems were detected. Very strange, very strange.
  • 0

#40
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
A further question - did you try a re-install after we had removed all the viruses as they may have corrupted the executable files

But still looking :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Yes I did. Just tried it again last night too!

I'm thinking there may be no hope for these silly games :)
  • 0

#42
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
It is reaching the stage where even google is running out of ideas :)

But I shall persevere and see what I can find
  • 0

#43
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Google, been there, done that myself. Thanks for your help though :) Maybe with both of us looking we may come up with something???
  • 0

#44
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Ok as one of your many infections was Haxdoor and I did not use the specific tool for that - there may and I stress may be a corrupted registry key that I did not find as I did a manual removal

so lets try haxfix to see if that would work ( this is called grabbing at straws :) )

Download haxfix.exe
and save it to your desktop.
  • Double click on haxfix.exe to install haxfix. (standard installation path is c:\program Files\haxfix)
  • Checkmark "Create a desktop icon"
  • Click "Next"
  • When the installation is completed, make sure that the checkmark "Launch HaxFix" is placed
  • Click "Finish"

A red "dos window" (dos box) will open with options:
1. Make logfile
2. Run auto fix
3. Run manual fix
E. Exit Haxfix

  • Select option 1. Make logfile by typing 1 and then pressing Enter
  • Haxfix will start scanning the computer. When it is finished a logfile will open: haxlog.txt > (c:\haxfix.txt)
  • Copy the contents of that logfile and paste it into this thread.

  • 0

#45
kingviper

kingviper

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Here you go:

HAXFIX logfile - by Marckie

version 5.00.7
Tue 01/01/2002 20:47:46.14
running from C:\HaxFix

--- Checking for Haxdoor ---

checking for a3d files
a3d files not found

checking for matching notify keys
no matching notify keys found

checking for matching services
matching services found
Aspi32

checking for matching safeboot services
no matching safeboot services found


--- Checking for Goldun ---

checking for SSODL keys
no ssodl keys found

checking for notify keys
no notify keys found

checking for services
no services found

checking iexplore.exe
iexplore.exe is not infected


--- Checking for other Goldun and Haxdoor files ---
no other Haxdoor or Goldun files found


--- Catchme logfile - thank you Gmer ---

catchme 0.3.1344.2 W2K/XP/Vista - rootkit/stealth malware detector by Gmer, http://www.gmer.net
Rootkit scan 2002-01-01 20:48:44
Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 NTFS

scanning hidden processes ...

scanning hidden services & system hive ...

scanning hidden registry entries ...

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows]
"DeviceNotSelectedTimeout"="15"
"GDIProcessHandleQuota"=dword:00002710
"Spooler"="yes"
"swapdisk"=""
"TransmissionRetryTimeout"="90"
"USERProcessHandleQuota"=dword:00002710

scanning hidden files ...

scan completed successfully
hidden processes: 0
hidden services: 0
hidden files: 0


--- Analysing Catchme logfile ---

no matching regkeys found


Finished!
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP