Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

explorer.exe probably infected

• Please log in to reply

HeavyStorm

HeavyStorm

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello people,

I'm new to the GeeksToGo Forums. I hope I can find some help here.

As the title of my post states, I'm having problems with my explorer.exe. It *is* behaving weirdly, has a "strange" size (I've only compared with one other explorer.exe, so I'm not really sure).

Just a bit of background: last saturday I was attempting to fix a friend PC, which is on the same network as my notebook. I was having some trouble doing a clean Windows install and, after some blue screens, I've managed to locate the problem (bad memory modules that were installed a few weeks ago) and installed a Windows XP SP2.

After the install, while I was driver-hunting, I noticed a executable, c:\is2.exe, in my friend's machine. I was really tired after spending the whole saturday formating and reinstalling the OS, so I deleted it and totally forgot about the subject. That, until I found the same executable on my machine. I quickly became aware of the threat, but was a bit paralised after I ran Symantec AV over it and got a empty 'virus' report. Since I knew that was a virus or somekind of malware, I purged it imediatly and proceeded to ran a full scan in Norton. Again, no results.