Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Print to HP Laserjet 6p problem

• Please log in to reply

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
I have a HP LaserJet 6P that I've been using for several years with no problems. Recenty printing to it has gotten very slow, sometimes taking 4 or 5 minutes between pages. It was connected to my Dell 4100 running XP Pro that I use as my Web Server, and was shared to my HP Desktop and Dell Laptop.

For debugging purposes, I moved it from the Dell and made it a direct connect printer on my HP Desktop. XP found and installed the driver, but when I print to it, it spools, I see the pages building up (10 all together), the printer light flashes as if it's going to print, then poof, it's gone. The spool is empty and the printer does nothing.

I downloaded and installed the latest driver from HP, no change same problem. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the printer several times with no change.

Next I went into BIOS and changed the Parallel port setup from DCP to Normal to see if that made any difference, it didn't.

Then I went into the printer properties and disabled spooling so I print directly to the printer, still no change. The printer light blinks for a bit then stops and nothing prints.

I'm ready to move it back to the Dell Web Server and see if it works there but was wondering if anyone here had any suggestions on troubleshooting this.

I posted here as I'm not sure if this is a hardware or software problem.

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Topic Starter
  • Technician