Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Disk Cleanup

• Please log in to reply

liner13

liner13

• Pip
  • 5 posts
I'm new to Geeks to Go and so I'm not quite sure this is where I need to be looking but I need to know how to clean up the C drive on my computer. I'm not completely computer illiterate and know a little bit about this but I can't seem to find any more operating space. I have two factory installed drives on my computer: C drive with like 13 Gb total usable space, and the D drive with 65 Gb or so of usable space. The problem is that the C drive is FULL. I have 113 Mb left on it but I've cleared all of the files that I have ever put on it as well as programs that I subsequently switched to the D drive. Disk Cleanup says I can free up about 1Gb through the deletion of temporary files and I'm wondering if I should actually do that, if there's some way to free up more space than that or if there's any other place to look or anything else I can do. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
If you can cleanup and gain 1 gig of space you are not taking very good care of the computer. I run disk cleanup every week. I also get rid of all cookies and temp internet files weekly also.

Second thing i think of is, Why are you running a 13 gig drive as "C". Hard drives are so cheap that you could buy a 160 gig HD (EDIE) for about $50.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136112

SRX660

spaztastic

spaztastic

• PipPip
  • 36 posts
Use their-party programs:

CCleaner