Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Deleted a file accidentally

• Please log in to reply

Capp

Capp

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie with a sad problem. I use easy cleaner on my lap top, and while running it I checked for duplicate copies, I have over 7000, so i started deleting them. I figured if I had two of each then I can make my computer run faster if I delete the copy. WRONG THING TO DO, it wouldn't respond to anything. I manually shut it down, and when I restarted it here's what it says, Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: <windows root>\system32\hal.dll. Please re-install a copy of the above file.

I didn't get a back up copy of anything when I bought this computer, but I do have an old gateway cd with Operating System windows xp home edition, version 1.3 I've tried several times to run this CD each time it stops at this: The file sparrow.sys is corrupted press any key to continue. When I press any key it goes off. I've tried it several times with no luck. Can you help me get back this file please?
Capp :)

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
Hi Capp, welcome to G2G.

You really shot yourself in the foot on this one :) . There is no way to know how many critical system files you deleted, so there is very little you can do except do a Repair Install or a recovery to factory installed state.