Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

wifi help


  • Please log in to reply

#1
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
my laptops net was working fine until i installed "sony ericsson pc suite" on to it. when I system restored, the internet worked fine again. i reinstalled the sony software and the same thing happened except i cant system restore now! i kinda dug myself a hole now since i have deleted all my system restore points now. to clarify, a connection is established (wifi icons are green) but i cant access the net. im typing this on my psp so theres nothing wrong with the router.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Networked.

Networked.

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
How are you connecting your computer to the router is it on wireless as well or do you have a cable run to it? If you're using wireless make sure that you're using windows to manage your wireless internet. If you're not using wireless and still can't access the internet with IE / Firefox try releasing youre IP and flushing the DNS...

Lets renew your connection to the gateway.

  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "cmd".
  • A black box will appear. Type in: "ipconfig /release".
  • After it is done releasing. Type in: "ipconfig /renew".
  • This should renew your connection with your gateway.

I know you tried it. Make sure you follow THIS order! First the release, then the renew.
You can also Try flushing the DNS.

  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "cmd".
  • A black box will appear. Type in: "ipconfig /flushdns".
  • This should clean your DNS cache.


Regards,
Olrik

If you do that and it still doesn't work you're talking to the server but can't access it through IE / Firefox try changing your settings...
  • 0

#3
Diego8

Diego8

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 189 posts
Can you access other computers / devices in your local area network?
Verify that your network adapter is set as DHCP.
  • 0

#4
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
tried renewing and flushing dns. no success. A wierd thing happens when i switch to windows zero mode though. the windows wireless icon tells me im not connected whilst my realtek wireless lan icon says im connected. just cant understand how installing a cd can do this
  • 0

#5
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
I'd like to see some more information. Please follow the steps below.
  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "cmd".
  • A black box will appear. Type in: "ipconfig /all".
  • A lot of information will appear, Please right click the black window and hit mark.
  • Select every line of text you recieved and hit "enter" to copy.
  • Then paste it into your next reply.

Also, have you tried un-installing the ericson suite simply through Add/Remove programs?

Regards,
Olrik

P.S. Can I say I'm honoured to see quotes of me :)
  • 0

#6
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
alrighty:


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Computer
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit E
thernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-21-25-D8-AE

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11g 54M
bps USB 2.0 Network Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-AF-0A-3D-DA

C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Computer
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit E
thernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-21-25-D8-AE

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11g 54M
bps USB 2.0 Network Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-AF-0A-3D-DA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 20 May 2008 09:32:42
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 May 2008 09:32:42

C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>


Btw i have tried uninstalling the software. No luck :)
  • 0

#7
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Discribe what happend during the un-installation.
Did it say succes or did it fail?

Also, is this a simple home setup? Or are you in an office?

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#8
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
home setup and the uninstallation was successful. The first time i installed the pc suite, i didn't uninstall it. all i did was system restore and the program uninstalled itself. the second time i installed it, i decided to uninstall but it didn't help. the wireless problems occured the next time I turned on my laptop after installing the software. When i installed the software and carried on using the laptop, the internet worked fine. when i turned off the laptop after installing the software, a new window appeared asking me if i wanted to "end now realtek wireless lan" i chose yes.

Oh yeah:

Home setup
Btw the first time i system restored, the wireless access worked.

Edited by beetlebass, 20 May 2008 - 03:17 AM.

  • 0

#9
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
I see, please download the file below.
http://www.techkidpc...startuplist.exe
Double click it and select "Yes" when a window Pops up.
Please attach the log that will be generated in the same directory.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#10
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
StartupList report, 20/05/2008, 10:27:58
StartupList version: 1.52
Started from : E:\startuplist.EXE
Detected: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\Program Files\Realtek Semiconductor Corp\Card Reader Software\DriveIcon\DriveIcon.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
C:\WINDOWS\AGRSMMSG.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe
C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_05\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Detector\CTDetect.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\Bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Realtek RTL8187 Wireless Network Driver and Utility\RtWLan.exe
C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
E:\startuplist.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Common Startup:
[C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
InterVideo WinCinema Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\Bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
Realtek RTL8187 Wireless Network Driver and Utility.lnk = ?

--------------------------------------------------

Checking Windows NT UserInit:

[HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Recguard = C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
(Default) =
High Definition Audio Property Page Shortcut = HDAShCut.exe
DriveIcons = "C:\Program Files\Realtek Semiconductor Corp\Card Reader Software\DriveIcon\DriveIcon.exe"
SynTPEnh = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
SkyTel = SkyTel.EXE
AGRSMMSG = AGRSMMSG.exe
igfxtray = C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
igfxhkcmd = C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
igfxpers = C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
RTHDCPL = RTHDCPL.EXE
Alcmtr = ALCMTR.EXE
QuickTime Task = "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime
iTunesHelper = "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
SunJavaUpdateSched = "C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_05\bin\jusched.exe"

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Creative Detector = C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Detector\CTDetect.exe /R
MSMSGS = "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
ctfmon.exe = C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
Nero PhotoShow Media Manager = C:\PROGRA~1\Nero\NEROPH~1\data\Xtras\mssysmgr.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=*INI section not found*
run=*INI section not found*

Load/Run keys from Registry:

HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=*Registry value not found*
HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=*Registry value not found*
HKLM\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=*Registry key not found*
HKLM\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=*Registry key not found*
HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=*Registry value not found*
HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=*Registry value not found*
HKCU\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=*Registry key not found*
HKCU\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=*Registry key not found*
HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: load=
HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: run=*Registry value not found*
HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: load=*Registry value not found*
HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: run=*Registry value not found*
HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: AppInit_DLLs=,

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=*INI section not found*
SCRNSAVE.EXE=*INI section not found*
drivers=*INI section not found*

Shell & screensaver key from Registry:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\system32\logon.scr
drivers=*Registry value not found*

Policies Shell key:

HKCU\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry key not found*
HKLM\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry value not found*

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
Skype add-on (mastermind) - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\SkypeIEPlugin.dll - {22BF413B-C6D2-4d91-82A9-A0F997BA588C}
(no name) - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_05\bin\ssv.dll - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43}
(no name) - (no file) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045}
(no name) - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6}
(no name) - C:\WINDOWS\mpcodecplg.dll - {BE2ED590-CA49-46B5-8CCE-244FB2E0D1AA}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

AppleSoftwareUpdate.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Office Genuine Advantage Validation Tool]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\OGACheckControl.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.micr.../OGAControl.cab

[LaunchGame.launchGameCtrl]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\LaunchGame_20050802.ocx
CODEBASE = http://shot.ongamene...me_20050802.CAB

[Shockwave ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\macromed\Director\SwDir.dll
CODEBASE = http://download.macr...director/sw.cab

[Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\legitcheckcontrol.dll
CODEBASE = http://go.microsoft....k/?linkid=39204

[NMJPStarter17 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\NMSTAR~1.DLL
CODEBASE = http://game.netmarbl...MStarterJP7.cab

[EGamesPlugin Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\EGamesPlugin.dll
CODEBASE = https://www.e-games....GamesPlugin.cab

[PowerLoader Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\POWERL~1.DLL
CODEBASE = http://adidas.powerc...PowerLoader.cab

[UnoCtrl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\GAME_UNO1.dll
CODEBASE = http://messenger.zon...1/GAME_UNO1.cab

[ijjiPlugin2 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\ijjiPlugin2.dll
CODEBASE = http://gamedownload....Plugin11USA.cab

[WUWebControl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuweb.dll
CODEBASE = http://www.update.mi...b?1204397970531

[NMJTransX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\NMJTRA~1.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.netmarble...b/NMJTransX.cab

[GomWeb Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\GomWeb3.dll
CODEBASE = http://app.ipop.co.kr/gom/GomWeb.cab

[MessengerStatsClient Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\messengerstatsclient.dll
CODEBASE = http://messenger.zon...nt.cab31267.cab

[{8FFBE65D-2C9C-4669-84BD-5829DC0B603C}]
CODEBASE = http://fpdownload.ma...t/ultrashim.cab

[MSN Games - Installer]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\ZIntro.ocx
CODEBASE = http://messenger.zon...ro.cab56649.cab

[MessengerStatsClient Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\MessengerStatsPAClient.dll
CODEBASE = http://messenger.zon...nt.cab56907.cab

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\Flash9e.ocx
CODEBASE = http://fpdownload.ma...ash/swflash.cab

[Minesweeper Flags Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\MineSweeper.dll
CODEBASE = http://messenger.zon...er.cab56986.cab

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating ShellServiceObjectDelayLoad items:

PostBootReminder: C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHELL32.dll
CDBurn: C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHELL32.dll
WebCheck: C:\WINDOWS\system32\webcheck.dll
SysTray: C:\WINDOWS\system32\stobject.dll
WPDShServiceObj: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WPDShServiceObj.dll

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 10,031 bytes
Report generated in 0.078 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Ok, a few questions before I post the fix. (To make sure I won't make mistakes.)

Reboot your PC and log in. Does it still give your Realtek program crashing?
Please try to ping the device.
  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "cmd".
  • A black box will appear. Type in: "ping 194.168.4.100" (Please repeat with 194.168.8.100 aswell. Seperate posts clearly)
  • A lot of information will appear, Please right click the black window and hit mark.
  • Select every line of text you recieved and hit "enter" to copy.
  • Then paste it into your next reply.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#12
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.



C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>ping 194.168.4.100

Pinging 194.168.4.100 with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 194.168.4.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),



C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>ping 194.168.8.100

Pinging 194.168.8.100 with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 194.168.8.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>



The realtek program only crashed after I installed the suite and turned my laptop off

Edited by beetlebass, 20 May 2008 - 04:12 AM.

  • 0

#13
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Alright, lets see if we can fix this then.

First, lets get rid of those DNS addresses. You seem to not be able to connect to them so they are only making sure your web browsers will fail to connect.
Follow the steps below to remove your DNS addresses.
  • Open your start menu and hit "Configuration Panel"
  • Once in the configuration panel, double click "Network Connections"
  • You'll see a few network adapters. Please right click <INPUT HERE> and hit properties.
  • In the list, scroll down until you see "TCP\IP", Select that and hit properties.
  • You can see at the top there are 2 tabs. In both tabs, make sure you have everything set to automatic.
(Take care, DO remember or write down what was written here. If things get worse, revert to the settings you wrote down.)

After this, Please try to ping the device.
  • Go to Start -> Run.
  • In the Box, type in "cmd".
  • A black box will appear. Type in: "ping 192.168.1.1"
  • A lot of information will appear, Please right click the black window and hit mark.
  • Select every line of text you recieved and hit "enter" to copy.
  • Then paste it into your next reply.

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0

#14
beetlebass

beetlebass

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
all of the setting on wireless are on the automatic settings already.

Edit:
Tried pinging 192.168.1.1

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=330ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 330ms, Average = 83ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Computer>

Edited by beetlebass, 20 May 2008 - 05:13 AM.

  • 0

#15
Artellos

Artellos

    Tech Secretary

  • Global Moderator
  • 3,888 posts
Ok, They are probably defined in the advanced options then.
  • Open your start menu and hit "Configuration Panel"
  • Once in the configuration panel, double click "Network Connections"
  • You'll see a few network adapters. Please right click "Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection" and hit properties.
  • In the list, scroll down until you see "TCP\IP", Select that and hit properties.
  • In the bottom right you can see "Advanced". Press that button.
  • Make sure you're on the DNS tab then clear the upper box.
(Take care, DO remember or write down what was written here. If things get worse, revert to the settings you wrote down.)

Regards,
Olrik
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP